Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award

Awards Opportunities
United States of America
Posted 4 years ago

Since the establishment of the Human Rights Award, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights has honored over 45 Laureates from 29 countries. The recipients are awarded based on their dedication and accomplishments toward social justice and their non-violent tactics used to achieve their goals.

The recipients are chosen through an extensive annual selection process. Every year, the public is invited to nominate courageous non-governmental human rights defenders. A panel of independent judges selects the honoree. Ideally, the nominee should be associated with, or lead, a non-governmental organization which is a major contributor to a social movement working to achieve social change, and should be working for social change within their country of origin.


Persons and organizations working non-violently to promote and protect human rights of any race, creed, religion, nationality, gender, or sexual orientation are eligible for the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award.

Nominees must not be part of a government institution or have an official role within a political party, although the nominee can be affiliated with a political party. Additionally, nominees must not be self-nominated and nominees must not be nominated for the purposes of a lifetime achievement award or a posthumous award.



A one-time total cash prize of U.S. $30,000 will be given to the nominee selected to receive the Human Rights Award. While it is preferable that one nominee is given the Award, if more than one recipient is selected in a year, the cash prize will be divided equally among the recipients.


Venue: The ceremony will be  held in Washington, D.C. in November.

Open to: All Nationalities

Procedures for Nomination

Anyone can nominate for the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Award. Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights seeks nominations from a wide spectrum of individuals likely to know of appropriate candidates.

While the Human Rights Award Judges may not nominate candidates for the Award, they may re-nominate candidates who were nominated but not selected in the previous year. There is no limit to the number of nominations an individual can make.


Read more

Application: Click here to submit a nomination


Application Deadline: March 31, 2018

Job Features

Job CategoryHuman Rights Opportunities

Apply Online